a pirate's life is the life for me.
11/01/04|10:47 a.m.

nooo! someone extend Halloween! please?

so, I did end up going to my brother's for the weekend. and it went fairly well. I don't know why, exactly - I know our relationship is still really confused and undefined - but I always end up feeling a bit like a stand-up comedian bombing in front of an impossible crowd when I'm with him. we just can't seem to find a rhythm, where we're joking and both laughing, where we're talking and not so on-edge. but, despite the fact that he made a really uncool comparison between me and a rather upsetting aunt - which has actually led me to some interesting thought-schtuffs, regarding how similar we are before our very different choices - things went fairly well. I survived meeting my potential sister-in-law, which is good. I feel weird even referring to her that way, but Dale so looks at every relationship like that from the very beginning, and he wants marriage and family so badly that I know if this seems right to them, it will happen. and probably quickly. but in the meantime, she's the first of his girlfriends I've met in several years, and she was way cool, even though I instantly entered this hyper, impress-the-guest, younger-sister role that was draining and rather annoying (to me.) but we laughed a lot and had a good time. she's a sleep-deprived med student planning to be a pediatrician. which is way cool. and she did her undergad work here, which is nice, makes conversation easier.

also: I did not instantly develop a crush on her, and seeing as Dale and I have a *very weird* tendency (that he does not know of) toward falling for the same people, this is very, very good.

oh, and we had a funny conversation - Dale and I - about the fact that Hanna(h?) is addicted to chocolate and therefore can be bribed and manipulated rather easily. he was offering me some of a chocolate cake that she had brought over because she "needed there to be chocolate cake" at his house - and I was asking if there were any conditions, anything I needed to do before I'd be allowed some of this cake... and he said actually, no, he had a lot more things to bribe Hannah around and a lot more fun bribing her than he would me. that it was different with her.

"that's probably a good thing," I said. "I think that's a good thing... that it be different with her." he laughed and nodded and I referenced a store we'd passed and made fun of; it was called "petite distinctions" and Dale wondered aloud if petite wasn't itself a distinction, and I said that they were referring to *petite* distinctions, the smaller ones, the rather tiny distinctions. I told him later that relating to your girlfriend differently than your sister was probably one of those petite distinctions that serve everyone involved. and he laughed. which is always a relief to me.

also, we saw Ray, which I was only mildly in the mood to do - but was blown away by. that is a fantastic movie, and I knew absolutley nothing about Ray Charles. but, wow- it's at that level where art is more true than most people let their truth be. it's more real than we generally allow of real life, in other words.

and I did dress as a pirate (though I never did get my bluebeard or my sword), and there is at least one picture, which Dale will hopefully send me. garrrr. it was incredibly fun. I made my mom hide in the bushes and showed up on Dale's doorstep as the Dread Pirate Bluebroad (Scourge of the Seven Seas).^ later, he gave me a Snickers for having done so. and he told us about his other trick-or-treater. the story follows.

Republican woman shows up on (non-Republican) Dale's doorstep, with hopes of winning over Dale's vote for her chosen candidate. Dale answers the door. Says, "Oh... you're dressed as a Republican" and offers her a Snickers bar. Republican woman does not laugh. She asks Dale if he's voting Tuesday and he informs her he is. She asks if he's voting for the candidate she's promoting and he tells her (silently: not only no but hell- audibly) no. she asks why. Dale says, "well - because he's personally endorsed by Dick Cheney... who happens to be the devil." Republican woman looks at Dale for a moment, blinks, swallows, and says, "Thanks for the Snicker bar."

funnies.

...also, my mom's hair is purple, and not just for the season. squee. I am a good influence on her... and I was over my "I don't feel as special now" unhappiness by the time she'd rinsed her hair, which is good. it looks spectacular. meanwhile, her best friend and adopted daughter (who just moved to Queens! yeay! - it's even better than I'm allowed to tell here) are both considering dying their hair (green and purple, respectively.) and, excepting the fact that the first one has a daughter in high school who will probably hunt me down and strangle me for making her mom that much more conspicuous, 't'is a good thing.

and now I have to go shower, despite the fact that it's pouring and - when I leave for the doctor in just under an hour - I will get soaked anew. honestly, I should just lather, dress, and walk outside. but that would be weird. and normalcy is so a priority of mine.

~me

^name developed by John, Sarah, and myself

Latest
Older
Profile
Rings
Cast
Mail
Notes
Sign
Oodles
Chord
Nourish
Caged
Design
Diaryland