me, the phone, and the papa-man.
08/27/04|12:47 p.m.

does anyone else ever read the AIM announcements that say, "so-and-so has signed on. so-and-so is away. so-and-so has returned from being away. so-and-so is away. so-and-so has returned. so-and-so is away" and really, truly expect one to pop up saying, "so-and-so is toying with you"? just me? damn.

in other randomness, I rock to the three zillionth power. seriously. I just called my doctor's office and spoke with his receptionist. look closely at that last sentence; take in all its nuances. I called someone who is not a friend, who I don't normally call, for something other than a friendly chat. in fact, I don't think I've *ever* called her before; I always make my mom act as an emissary. (I mean, I am the someday-Empress-of-the-universe. still, independence is good.) and just now, she called back and I answered the phone. raise your hand if you think I'm possessed. 's'crazy.

the bad news is I had to call because the doctor is sick. poor doctor. poor doctor's patients. I just hope he didn't get sick being out in the rain, as I still have his umbrella. I hope he has more than one umbrella. we've had crazy storms the past few days. enjoyable. the landlocked version of hurricanes. anyway. I tried to call in my propranolol yesterday, and the automated pharmacy receptionist was all, "we have to further investigate whether or not you're abusing this med, you potential-druggie-you" - so I was planning to talk to the doctor about it today. (as if I ever would have remembered that. sha. ...ooh, scary early nineties lingo creepin' in...) so he cancelled, and I called his office because I only have enough pills to get me through Saturday. and do you know what the pharmacy told the receptionist? (sorry, not a joke-setup.) "oh, she still has refills left on that script." dorks. methinks they need to confer with their computer.

I saw my dad yesterday. I'm not sure how it happened. I spent a lot of time being frustrated at him, and thinking about the way that he operates, and how - although he loves me and will do anything for me - the two aren't really related. what he does is rarely out of his love for me. it's more to prove his love for me. it's messy. but anyway, I hadn't spoken with him in a few weeks; he'd called me like five times. I was feeling crappy about it all. and then randomly, Wednesday night, he called and I just decided to answer it. all on-a-whim like. and we had an ok chat, and he suggested we do something Thursday, and I - significantly defeated by the unintentional house arrest I suffer - agreed. it was good to see him, hug him. it was actually one of the better visits. and as I said in the entry that the computer decided was not worthy of posting, I have this fear that if I don't do things a certain way, my dad will disappear. but he's actually rather attached to me. (duh, Mary.) so I feel more comfortable now. we kept it pretty much on the surface, but it went well, so... I'm ok with that, for the moment. also, he knew about my birthday. he must have talked with one of my siblings because he mentioned it right away when he called, said congratulations were in order and all that. and when he came over, he had a balloon (which I don't think will creep around the house as eerily as the Bubbles balloon I randomly ended up with last year, but I'm good with that) and flowers with Spongebob in them. (Spongebob flowers. ha! Spongebob is in the vase with them as well because of course, he needs water. I am *such* a dork. squee.) anyway, it meant a lot to me that I didn't have to tell him about the birthday, that he found out about it and recognized its importance on his own. understandably, he's still very grateful for every day I rack up without using this illness. I think we all remember all too well how it felt thinking I would die. ::shakes head free of that:: anyway. he even said, "what's the date exactly?" and when I told him, "I should know that by now" to which I said, "it's ok - no one else does."

so, yeah. I'll take good. and he likes my blue hair. although, I think he's a bit fixated on seeing my grandma respond. silly padre. he kept saying he was going to dye his, but he wouldn't take me to buy the dye. now *that* would be a fun father-daughter outing.

eventhewind^ is now away. ...or is she? mwa ha ha.

~me

^not my actual sn

Latest
Older
Profile
Rings
Cast
Mail
Notes
Sign
Oodles
Chord
Nourish
Caged
Design
Diaryland