I, hate. I, hate. I, hate.
07/08/04|8:25 p.m.

I hate that when you fell I kept walking.

When you didn't stand, I cried, but I kept breathing.

I kept moving. When you kicked me out, I went.

I hate that I didn't nail each finger to the wall.

I didn't stay. I hate that I let you make me leave.

I hate that you started leaving, too, before I could come back.

I hate that I didn't let the loss destroy me.

I hate that I didn't reap my vengeance by hurting myself again.

I hate that I loved life too much to jeopardize it then.

I hate that I kept loving you, even when you left me alone.

I kept on going, as your daughter, through things technically too tough to survive. I survived.

I wouldn't stop moving.

I hate that my feet kept going, and I learned to bike.

I hate that when I fell, I stood up again.

I could catch myself just as I started to trip.

I hate that I could keep myself safe.

And you struggled, and you suffered, and you slipped, and you fell. You relapsed, and you retired, and you died, and you quit being there when I called you - it was just an empty outline of your voice.

I struggled, and I suffered, and I slipped and I lived.

I hate how many times you've been in hospitals.

I hate how many years of your life this has consumed.

I hate that I got lucky, got help early, that my hard work paid off so soon.

I hate that I wasn't there before to stop them from hurting you, and I'm not there now to stop you from hurting.

I hate looking over my shoulder, and thinking I'll see you.

Crying because it's lonely to walk ahead.

Crying because I think I believe I'm better than you, and I don't want to believe that.

I want to catch up to you, but I can't change direction, and I can't stop moving.

I want to open up to you, but I don't know if you'll understand anymore. I hate this life. This real life.

I hate the thought of telling you that I get depressed at the pool, when you could never go.

I hate the thought of telling you I'm scared of relationships, when you're trying not to die.

I hate being extraordinary. I hate missing you.

I hate loving you, sometimes; I hate being afraid.

I hate I hate I hate knowing that if you die on me

I'll stumble and cry and go on.

That isn't fair.

~me

Latest
Older
Profile
Rings
Cast
Mail
Notes
Sign
Oodles
Chord
Nourish
Caged
Design
Diaryland