there once was a woman named mary. // who wrote lyric referencing harry. // and when it was done, she'd admit she'd had fun // but sharing she still found was scary.
06/30/04|10:55 a.m.

I believe the correct title for me is "sheila who by pure coincidence managed to have her hands on the keyboard at the right time." I take credit for learning the home keys. and that's about it. HP fan poetry? me? what about the two stories I'm supposedly working on? what about the world of literature outside Hogwarts and Wizarding England? what about the fact that fan poetry... you know... sucks?

so many references... gyah...

*

*

*

you'll find me
caring for thestrals
with too much sympathy
gently
I too am properly
visible only after
death leaves you alive.
I too intimidate
needlessly, invoke
superstitions better
shaken, better overcome.
I have soft scales for a coat
but few will touch me.

who will touch me?
you will walk on by.

you'll find me
enslaved by house-elves
in the kitchen
crying over dirt
I cannot clean
they move more quickly
than I blink,
feed me before I am hungry,
comfort me before I can hurt.
once I decide to stand,
they've found me a chair.

I, too, could have adventures
if I could call reparo
to a broken plate. if I could know
it's possible for a woman to grow whole
as rules break.

who will take me on a tour
of the forbidden forest
show me a secret passage
keep me a step ahead
of a foul cat, led
home by a half-bred one.

let me master my mysteries
myself, without a guardian.
master without but not alone.
know need and then no need unmet.

you fill find me comforted
by my own fingers, stroking
thestrals between forbidden
trees. kicking up dirt
I don't know how to clean
you will find me dancing
with house-elves, free
we... know there's more
to liberty
than wages.

how many pages can contain my excitement?
how many volumes do I have to tell my tale?
you will find me rambling at all the wrong times.
you will find me babbling off
and on again. rough illustrations by
a hand that hasn't learned to draw
assumes it knows.

you will find me at St. Mungo's
apprentice healer of the second floor
I learned more convalescing than
illness ever intended. I go
to give what I seek. I know
more than my share, prepared:
I am one of those creatures
only properly visible
since dear life held onto me
I am one of those women
who found her own magic
and set herself free.

I will be here
when you find me.
I will be here whether or not
I'm found. while there is love
and loyalty
I'll be around.

*

*

*

in olden days, performers bowed to give the royal audience time to chop their heads off... and I'm afraid I'd be a lousy contributor to the headless hunt. :nerves:

~me

Latest
Older
Profile
Rings
Cast
Mail
Notes
Sign
Oodles
Chord
Nourish
Caged
Design
Diaryland