fine tuning.
06/10/04|10:56 a.m.

someone is coming to tune our piano - which has masterfully hidden middle c on a black key an octave or three to the left side... they are not yet here, which means they are not yet gone, which means I cannot yet leave my room. on a different day, perhaps. or just to go shower, probably. my life is weird, in sometimes sucky ways.

example: a few days ago, my mom left, and a few minutes afterward, someone started buzzing, wanting to get in. I was on my knees by the couch, and I had my head buried in a pillow. that's the sort of moment when dignity calls a realtor. it was, of course, my mom. I never answered the intercom-thingamajig, so I didn't know that for sure, until - terrified that this mysterious person would get into the building either because a) they actually had a key, being maintenance or something - or b) they'd get another renter to let them in ... (and not trusting a single door to stay between us, if they did get in) - I took my own keys, put on my shoes, and went out my back door to the parking lot. yeah. under the pretense of getting some juice from the trunk of the car. my life is happy. I saw my mom crossing the parking lot and tried to play it cool. but you just can't. it's like walking down the street on a perfectly sunny, dry day, absolutely soaking wet, and trying to throw the people you pass a "collected" nod of acknowledgement. you just end up looking *that much cooler* when you slip on your own jeans the next second and fall on your face against the sidewalk.

not speaking from experience or anything. this metaphor is entirely fictional; any relation to actual events, living or dead, is absolutely coincidental. we now return you to our regularly scheduled program.

ooh, mathnet!

wow. ok. um. I haven't gotten much sleep lately. according to the doctor's theories - from before I wasn't getting much sleep, just regarding my migraine - my body is refusing to relax because when it relaxes, I get sick... insomnia on the other hand is truly healthy for a growing girl. (that and your Wheaties, and girl, you're set... I don't like Wheaties. I like Crispex. that and Cocoa Puffs. do not deny a girl her cocoa puffs.) also, I spent the entirety of yesterday writing ridiculous fanfiction and rereading OotP. and finally, I get to see Prisoner of Azkaban tonight!!!! this requires me to go outdoors, but... Hogwarts is a pretty rocking destination. I can get out of my apartment long enough to go sit in the dark and visit Hogwarts, right? sure. I'm a Gryffindor. Gryffindors are brave.

foreign voices - well, voice - have/ has arrived. in one minute, we must make a wish. good news: I'm much better at making wishes than I am at making sense.

Latest
Older
Profile
Rings
Cast
Mail
Notes
Sign
Oodles
Chord
Nourish
Caged
Design
Diaryland